Skip to main content

NC Division for Early Childhood



2021-22 Board of Directors


Dr. Mabel Rivera ( University of North Carolina Pembroke


Dr. Jessica Amsbary ( University of North Carolina Chapel Hill


Dr. Glennda McKeithan (     University of Kansas


Deborah Parker, MSE ( Guilford County Schools

Membership Chair

Dr. Ann Mickelson ( University of North Carolina Charlotte

Professional Development Chair

Dr. Sloan Storie ( University of North Carolina Charlotte

Student Representative

Ms. Leslie Fanning (   University of North Carolina Charlotte

 Community & Family Outreach Director

Hsiu-Wen Yang ( University of North Carolina Chapel Hill

Northeast/Region 1 Representative

Dr. Sheresa Blanchard ( East Carolina University

Northeast/Region 2 Representative

Sarah Dull ( Guilford County Schools

Region 3 Representative & Representative Co-Chair

Dr. Fain Barker ( Meredith College

Region 4 Representative

Debra Sauls ( Wayne County Public Schools

Region 5 Representative

Dr. Debra Prykanowski ( Appalachian State University    

Region 6 Representative

Dr. Kaycee Bills ( Fayetteville State University  

Region 7 Representative & Representative Co-Chair

Dr. Dionne Sills-Busio ( Appalachian State University

Region 7 Representative

Dr. Denise Brewer ( Appalachian State University
Region 8 Representative Nakita Thomas ( New Hanover County Schools


NC DEC Distinguished Service Award

Glennda McKeithan, PhD

2021 Winner

Dr. Glennda McKeithan 

University of Kansas

Last Updated:  4 March, 2021

© 2021 Council for Exceptional Children (CEC). All rights reserved.